Is Hawaii a Country?

Mahalo For Sharing Your Aloha

hawaii country

What is the History of Hawaii?

1. Kingdom of Hawaii (1810-1893)

The Kingdom of Hawaii was a sovereign nation that existed from 1810 until 1893. It was founded by King Kamehameha I and was the first unified government of the Hawaiian Islands. The Kingdom of Hawaii was a monarchy, with the king in control of executive, legislative and judicial branches. It had its own land tenure system and a caste system, and was governed by religious taboos derived from the Hawaiian worship of gods.

The importance of knowing this history of the Kingdom of Hawaii is that it forms the basis of the modern state of Hawaii, and it’s important to recognize the culture that the original inhabitants of Hawaii brought with them. This includes traditions such as hula dancing, surfing, and exchanging flower garlands known as leis. It is also important to recognize the unique culture that was created by the early Polynesian settlers, who faced the challenges of surviving on such isolated islands with limited resources. Knowing the history of the Kingdom of Hawaii also sheds light on the overthrow of the monarchy in 1893 and subsequent American control. This event has led to the ongoing debate about the legal status of Hawaii, and has led to organizations seeking sovereignty for the islands.

2. Republic of Hawaii (1894-1898) then U.S. Territory (1898-1958)

The Republic of Hawaii was a political entity that existed from 1894 until 1898, when it officially became a U.S. territory. A republic is a state or country that is governed by elected representatives, rather than by a monarch. In the Hawaiian definition of statehood, the Republic of Hawaii was an independent nation where the people, rather than the monarchy, held power. During this period, citizens of Hawaii were able to elect representatives to represent them and their interests, and a government was established to protect the citizens’ rights and to help promote their economic prosperity. Ultimately, the Republic of Hawaii was dissolved and Hawaii became a U.S. territory.

3. State of Hawaii (1959-Present)

The state of Hawaii, as part of the United States of America, is not a country in and of itself. Although it is a group of volcanic islands located in the central Pacific Ocean, Hawaii is a state within the United States of America, and as such has no sovereignty or independence from the United States. This is evidenced by the fact that it is the 50th state to join the union, with the admission date of August 21, 1959 and the capital of Honolulu being located on the island of Oahu. The state of Hawaii is economically vibrant and contributes to a variety of industries, including research and development in oceanography, geophysics, astronomy, satellite communications, and biomedicine. However, Hawaii is still a part of the United States and is not a separate country.

An aerial photograph of the Hawaiian coastline.

Today, is Hawaii a Country or a State?

Hawaii is a state and not a country. It is part of the United States, and is the last of the 50 states to join the U.S., receiving its statehood on August 21, 1959. Hawaii is located about 2,000 miles to the southwest of the United States, in the central region of the Pacific Ocean and is made up of eight major islands, seven of which are inhabited, plus 124 named islets. Its capital is Honolulu, located on the island of Oahu. Hawaii has its own fully independent government, but is economically and politically linked to the United States.

What is the History of Hawaii Becoming a State?

Hawaii had been a U.S. territory since 1898, and during the first half of the 20th century there were many petitions for statehood. However, these petitions were denied or ignored due to the distance of Hawaii from the mainland, the power of American plantation owners on the islands, and fears of granting electoral power to one ethnic group or another. World War II had a major impact on Hawaii’s status as a place of loyalty to the U.S., and in the 1950s, with the Civil Rights Movement in full swing, Congress began to seriously consider the statehood of Hawaii. In 1959, a referendum was held in which over 93% of the voters approved the proposition that the territory should become a state. This marked the official admittance of Hawaii as the 50th state of the union.

What is the Hawaiian Monarchy?

The Hawaiian monarchy is a form of government established in the 18th century when Hawaiian chiefdoms were unified under the rule of King Kamehameha I. The monarchy was maintained through the House of Kamehameha until 1872. The Hawaiian Kingdom was a constitutional monarchy, with King Kamehameha III establishing the rights of citizens and splitting the government into executive, legislative, and judiciary branches. While King Kamehameha III remained in control of the branches, he worked with a House of Nobles and a House of Tenants who represented citizens’ rights. The monarchy was heavily influenced by American Protestant missionaries, who used their influence to end many traditional practices and shift the population towards Christianity.

What is the Current Political Status of Hawaii?

Hawaii is currently classified as a state of the United States, and is internationally recognized as such. This classification has been contested in U.S. District Court, the U.N., and other international forums, but has been broadly accepted in mainstream understanding. The Hawaiian sovereignty movement views the overthrow of the Kingdom of Hawaii in 1893 and subsequent annexation of Hawaii by the United States as illegal, and seeks some form of greater autonomy for Hawaii, such as free association or independence from the United States. After attaining statehood in 1959, Hawaii quickly modernized and has since promoted Hawaiian culture.

What is the Hawaiian State Constitution?

The Hawaiian state constitution is the governing document of the state of Hawaii. It was adopted in 1978, and is titled “The Constitution of the State of Hawaii.” Article XV, Section 1 of the Constitution uses “The State of Hawaii” as its official name. The exact spelling of the state’s name in the Hawaiian language is Hawai’i, though the federal government uses Hawaii in the Hawaii Admission Act that granted statehood. The state constitution and Hawaii state law do not authorize either state-wide voter initiatives or state-wide referendum actions, and the issuance of bonds is not subject to approval by public vote. The state government structure is based on that of the federal government, with executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The governor is the head of the executive, and the legislature is bicameral. Hawaii has two representatives and two senators in the U.S. Congress.


Mahalo For Sharing Your Aloha
National Weather Service
error: Content is protected !!